Hagerstown Suns History

The BallParkGuide.com Hagerstown Suns History
by Malcolm MacMillan
  • Hagerstown's baseball history dates to 1915
  • Suns have been in town since 1981 season
A plaque recalling President George Bush's 1990 visit to Municipal Stadium to watch the Suns is on display in the concourse behind home plate.

Though the Hagerstown Suns have only been in town since 1981, baseball has a rich history in this town. Dating back to 1915, Hagerstown's teams have included the Blues, Terriers, Champs, Hubs, Owls and Braves. The latter two clubs were affiliated with the Detroit Tigers and the Boston Braves, respectively.

Between 1955 and 1981, Hagerstown didn't have a professional baseball franchise. In time for the 1981 season, however, a local businessman bought the Carolina League's Rocky Mountain Pines (who were fresh off a 24-114 season in 1980), moved the franchise to Hagerstown and named it the Suns. The team gained an affiliation with the Baltimore Orioles and won a league title in its inaugural season.

In 1989, the Suns moved up to the AA Eastern League and remained there as an Orioles affiliate until 1992. Following the 1992 season, when it appeared as though baseball might not be played in Hagerstown in 1993, another businessman moved the South Atlantic League's Myrtle Beach Hurricanes to Hagerstown and called them the Suns. This franchise was affiliated with the Toronto Blue Jays until the end of the 2000 season.

Beginning in 2001, the Suns were affiliated with the San Francisco Giants for a four-year term. They were tied to the New York Mets in 2005 and 2006 and have been affiliated with the Washington Nationals since 2007. The Nats have commitment with the Suns through the 2012 season.

Notable alumni

Brady Anderson
Matt Cain
Bryce Harper
Cesar Izturis
Francisco Liriano
Mike Mussina
Vernon Wells
Brian Wilson
Michael Young