El Paso Chihuahuas

El Paso Chihuahuas -- New El Paso Ballpark

The El Paso Chihuahuas are the newest member of the Pacific Coast League, joining prior to the start of the 2014 season. The franchise moved to Chihuahua from Tucson, where they'd played as the Padres between 2011 and 2013. Prior to that, the team was situated in Portland and known as the Beavers. The franchise dates back in various incarnations to 1903, when it was known as the Los Angeles Angels. At the time of their inception, the Angels were a founding member of the Pacific Coast League. As was the case when the club was located in Tucson, it's affiliated with the San Diego Padres.


The Chihuahuas play the home games on their schedule at what's currently known as the New El Paso Ballpark. Work on the park began in the spring of 2013 and the park is expected to open in April of 2014. It has an official attendance of 9,500, numerous eateries and a 360-degree concourse.

El Paso Chihuahuas Roster

Notable players to appear on the Tucson Padres roster during the team's three years of existence include Cameron Maybin, Jedd Gyorko, Micah Owings, Everth Cabrera and Orlando Hudson.

Spring Training

During Spring Training, members of the Chihuahuas share the Peoria Sports Complex with other players of the San Diego Padres system. The park opened in 1994 and is also the Cactus League home of the Seattle Mariners. It also serves as one of the host parks for the Arizona Fall League.

The Ballpark Guide hasn't visited the El Paso Chihuahuas yet, but hopes to in the near future. If you're excited to read a fan guide to New El Paso Ballpark, check out the many ways you can support The Ballpark Guide on future baseball road trips.